deep record store

johnny clarke - creation rebel

creation rebel
catalog number:
14.44 €
out of stock
A great collection of classic roots recordings from the mid-70's for the singer who came close in challenging Bob Marley & Dennis Brown for reggae's crown. All re-mastered recordings available as 30-Track 2CD-Deluxe Digipak and 23-Track 2LP-set in a gatefold sleeve, both with in-depth sleeve notes by Noel Hawkes. The release is supported by several summer festival appearances.

Only Johnny Clarke would come close to challenging Bob Marley & Dennis Brown for reggae's crown, his unequaled run of hit songs, powered by Bunny Lee and King Tubby's aggravating versions, continued without a pause during the mid-70's leading Johnny to twice being named Jamaica's Artist Of The Year (and the signing of a two album recording deal with Virgin's Frontline label). Many of Johnny Clarke's classic roots recordings gathered here were first given wider international exposure in 1998 with the release of Blood & Fire's excellent 13-Track "Dreader Dread - 1976-1978" compilation, which has disappeared from the market for several years. Now re-mastered and drastically expanded, with a new artwork and entitled "Creation Rebel" the release captures the very essence of what is now regarded as the golden age of roots music!

2CD (6-panel digipak with 12-page illustrated booklet)
2LP (double vinyl in a gatefold sleeve with liner notes)
01. jah love is with i (extended version)
02. bad days are going (extended version)
03. play fool fe get wise
04. live up jah man
05. dread a dread
06. time will tell
07. blood dunza
08. king in the arena
09. fire and brimstone a go burn the wicked
10. african people
11. jah jah we are waiting
12. in the roots of the ghetto
13. roots natty congo
14. love up your brother and sisters
15. peace and love in the ghetto (extended version)

01. age is growing
02. african roots
03. every knee shall bow
04. top ranking
05. move out of babylon rastaman
06. commercial locks feat. dillinger
07. enter into his gates with praise
08. none shall escape the judgement
09. joshua's words
10. jah jah bless joshua
11. cold i up
12. don’t be a rude boy
13. just give up the badness
14. don’t trouble trouble
15. i’m gonna put it on
© 2007-2019 deep music kft. All rights reserved. | 60c7557a0d | | FAQ | made by su