deep record store

v/a - brazil usa - brazilian music in the usa in the 1970s

brazil usa - brazilian music in the usa in the 1970s
catalog number:
17.32 €
world music/latin/jazz
out of stock
All of the music featured here on this new Soul Jazz Records collection was created by Brazilian artists in the USA in the 1970s.

In the early 1970s North American jazz musicians were eager to work with upcoming Brazilian musicians. Miles Davis invited Airto Moreira to join his new ‘electric’ band, Dom Um Romao (part of Sérgio Mendes’ legendary Brazil ‘66 in the 1960s) joined the fusion group Weather Report, Flora Purim and Airto both became a part of Chick Corea’s new project Light As A Feather, Wayne Shorter collaborated with Milton Nascimento, George Duke recorded Brazilian Love Affair, and so on.

With all the attention placed on them from these important jazz artists, North America became the new musical playground for a large number of these Brazilian artists – Airto Moreira, Flora Purim, Sérgio Mendes, Luiz Bonfá, Eumir Deodato, Joao Donato and many others.

Most of these musicians had already experienced success through the earlier popularity of bossa nova in the 1960s, either at home in Brazil or in the USA. But by the end of the 1960s many Brazilian artists had left their own country, as the military dictatorship became progressively more authoritarian and repressive. In the USA, through their critically acclaimed work for Miles Davis, Weather Report, Light As A Feather etc., all of these artists were now given reign to explore new musical terrains away from the restrictions of both a musical genre and a state censor back in Brazil.

This collection brings together some of these finest works and comes complete with extensive notes that explains the path these musicians took from Brazil to the USA and shows the political and musical links between Brazil and the USA that created the conditions for this unique fusion of these two distinct cultures, North American Jazz and Brazilian music, that occurred in the 1970s.

The album comes as a deluxe gatefold double vinyl LP, complete with download code, full sleeve notes, exclusive photography, double inner sleeves. The CD contains CD plus a large 40-page outsize booklet all housed in Soul Jazz slipcase.
01. airto / samba de flora
02. duke pearson and flora purim / sandalia dela
03. sergio mendes & brasil '66 / batucada (the beat)
04. deodato / skyscrapers
05. milton nascimento / catavento
06. airto / tombo in 7/4
07. luiz bonfá / bahia soul
08. dom um romao / braun-blek-blu
09. moacir santos / kathy
10. joao donato / almas irmas
11. sivuca / ain't no sunshine
12. milton nascimento / rio vermelho
13. tamba 4 / consolation (consolaçao)
14. flora purim / moon dreams
15. dom um romao / escravos de jo
16. airto / andei (i walked)
© 2007-2019 deep music kft. All rights reserved. | 60c7557a0d | | FAQ | made by su