deep record store

round table knights - say say what! what!

say say what! what!
catalog number:
15.86 €
exkluzív megjelenés out of stock
These charismatic Swiss turntablists have been playing underground hip hop, old rock, electro, and jazz since their teens. Initially a scratch collective hailing from Bern, Switzerland, the bearded crusaders have scaled some truly great heights in the last year. 2010 saw their first EP for Made to Play 'Calypso' get signed on the spot by label boss Jesse Rose after hearing it in their hometown at Club Bonsoir. This went on to become one of the catchiest outputs on the label to date, with support from everyone from Luciano to Annie Mac in her Glastonbury set.

Finding affinity with Made To Play's liberal reinvention of the boundaries of house music, the label's early releases found their way into the Round Table Knights collection as house gradually became their over-riding theme. Never delivering an output that could be considered 'typical', their chivalrous kudos as remixers was also duly noted with projects on Gomma, and Defected thus turning some serious heads. And not forgetting their massive remix of Tensnake's 'Coma Cat' which went on to become Pete Tong's "Essential New Tune".

Their forthcoming debut artist album 'Say What?!' on Made To Play reflects just this; ranging from pop, electro, disco, dub, jazz, garage, swing... all united under the feeling that is house. As the 12th century 'Round Table' theory suggests, each that sits at it, does so in equal measures. Floaty melodic piano chords and lush string pads climatically introduce the album. 'Old Fashioned' is a nice slice of funky synth chops with uplifting and echoing vocal samples that set the feel good mood. Onto 'Say What' featuring Austrian spell binders Ogris Debris who add their own 'swingin' sexy chair' vocals to this funk infused track. 'Paparussi' jazzes it up with a classic house beat chased down with a hypnotic melody of golden airy brass. Throughout 'Cut To The Top' the hypnotically catchy guitar riff, chugging beats, groovy clarinet line and the vocal preaching of the Reverend spell out loud why this one has amassed such huge club reactions the world over. 'Cherry Pie', a nod to the 70's retro style is a stripped down, funk guitar throwback with a criminally characteristic overlaid synth melody.
01. intro
02. old fashioned
03. say what feat. ogris debris
04. paparussi
05. short skit
06. cut to the top feat. reverend beat man
07. stomper
08. cherry pie
09. cat power
10. all night feat. ghostape
11. elder syrup
12. why be serious
13. drop the dow
14. calypso
© 2007-2015 deep music kft. All rights reserved. | r2306+r2311+r2312 | | FAQ | made by su