deep record store

the seal cub clubbing club - royal variety

royal variety
catalog number:
14.76 € 7.38 €
exkluzív megjelenés LAST ITEM!
2010 sees Nik, Jay, Andy, Simon and John readying themselves for another big year. Their debut album 'Super Science Fiction' came out in 2009 to great critical acclaim. As well as being nominated for XFM newcomer of the year and receiving plaudits from Mike Walsh (Head of Playlist), TSCCC performed at T-In The Park and recorded a session for Marc Riley's BBC 6 show. The band have won many new fans, be it publications such as Artrocker and The Word, or anyone in the US or Greece who heard 'Aurienteering' (from their debut) bouncing along on the new Vicks advert. Bizarre. They also played shows with British Sea Power, The Fall and Juliette Lewis, and their 'Super Science Fiction' literary event at Liverpool's Rockscape amphitheatre attracted readings from local writers like Frank Cottrell-Boyce (24 Hour Party People, Millions) and Ramsey Campbell (winner of the Horror Fiction Guild of America's Lifetime Achievement Award).

2010 is not just a good name for a sequel. The second album, provisionally titled "Royal Variety", is on its way to completion. The first single from it, "Made of Magic" has been mixed by Mark Freegard (of The Breeders fame) and features high-speed car-crash vocals. It is a departure, to say the least. Fans of the first album may find the new album something of a heart-racer; "Peewit (Twelve Beds)" works drum 'n' bass through a post-hardcore mainframe, but for the old fans there are moments of Super Science Fiction-esque heart-rending in "The Borough" and "It's All Coming Back To You Now." Recording and writing with full creative control for the first time has produced an album choc-full of eccentricities and hidden depths.

The band have also picked up plays from Huw Stephens (In New Music We Trust), Gideon Coe, Steve Lamacq, Don Letts and John Kennedy's Xposure show along the way. Already in 2010 they have a UK tour announced and are attracting shows in France, Germany and Scandinavia as their unique sounds start to travel across mainland Europe like a reverse Norman migration.

Already in 2010 the band have recorded session tracks for Marc Riley and Gideon Coe on 6 Music.
01. old world
02. everybody's in the same boat
03. supercars
04. the borough
05. heaven can wait
06. free swim
07. charity
08. made of magic
09. lapwing
10. peewit (twelve beds)
11. another planet
12. desperate dan: year one
13. it's all coming back to you now
© 2007-2019 deep music kft. All rights reserved. | 60c7557a0d | | FAQ | made by su